Day: August 1, 2011

Capt. America: The First Avenger Review

Posted on Updated on

The hype of the Avengers movie next year is slowing speeding up with the coming of the separate movies of each member of the Avengers. Just this week, the movie of the first avenger, Capt. America was released to cinemas already.

Image Not Mine

Naturally, Doms and I will make way just to watch these movies because Doms loves these kinds of movies.

After hearing mass yesterday, we went straight to NEX Mall in Serangoon to watch our booked ticket to the movie Capt. America: The First Avenger. I was half expecting the cinema to be crowded with people waiting in line to watch the movie, but I was wrong. The cinema was just normal. Anyway, I got our tickets and I even got some free ref magnet from the cinema. We went to our seats already and I patiently waited for the movie to start.

I really hate snowy movie settings. The start of the movie came in when a certain agency found “something” amidst the snow. I didn’t get what it was in the beginning. I didn’t even get the slightest clue that it was ship that they saw. When they started drilling and went inside was the only time that I found out that it was a ship.

I was kinda expecting this type of opening for movies like this because a lot of things is happening. So, the movie started with the struggles of Steve Rogers.

Chris Evans played it well. From the dorky Steve Rogers to the bulky Capt. America. Johann Schmidt (the dude from Matrix), also was a creepy enough to be a Nazi ally. The mood and the setting of the movie which was dated 1945 was really convincing. But the ships weapons and all the other stuff are not.

OK I know it was explained that Schmidt has found the blue thing that gave him the chance to build modernized submarines and ships but seriously? The producers should have thought of it. They should have made the ships look 1950’s on the outside and the modern in the inside.

Image Not Mine

Story and tag line was nice. I liked the funny parts. Actor chemistry was all good and the my favorite character was Tommy Lee Jones. And golly, Bucky was really cute!!!

All in all, I will rate this movie 3.5 stars. It was alright. I loved the ending credits and the trailer of the Avengers movie. That made me excited to watch the movie next year.